Self-Publishing and Planning

My good (great, amazing, spectacular) friend Katie is publishing her debut novel soon. I love her newest post talking about some behind the scenes details!

Katie Kaleski

confused Me at the beginning of it all.

A big thing I’ve learned so far self-publishing (well, working my way toward it) is that lots of planning goes into it. Even as you’re writing the book, you still have to plan. You have to plan your next book; you have to plan for editing, release dates, and bunches of other things. I’ve read plenty of articles where people argue for traditional publishing for this reason. They say it takes up so much time, time that could be used writing. You know what? It’s called time management. And you also know what?  I don’t spend every minute of my day writing. I just don’t. Nor do I spend all day planning stuff, but some things you do have to plan for:

Your next book

You want that thing almost ready to go as soon as the first one releases. You can’t wait…

View original post 316 more words

Leave a Reply

